In the long run

Something that has been on my mind off-and-on over the last few months has been, “where has all the time gone?” I look back over the past decade or two and remember where I thought I’d be by now, and note how utterly different (not necessarily better, or worse) my life is to that imagined life.

Seth Godin posted an interesting article yesterday:

“You’re already self employed. When are you going to start acting like it?”

For me, becoming a contractor was partly due to this realization – having the flexibility to set my own terms for leave means I am less beholden to my employer to request time off when I need it. No longer do I have to wait until I’ve worked long enough to earn holidays. I’m loving it!

Then, Seth, gives this interesting one-liner:

“In the long run, we’re all dead.”

For many people, unfortunately, this is the truth. For those who are saved, however, this is untrue. I suspect it is a lie that our enemy wants each Christian to believe. “Eat, drink and be merry, for tomorrow we may die.” In the long run, are you dead, or alive?

Seth says it well: “the decisions and actions we take each day determine what we’ll be doing next” – and if you believe there is more than this current life, this is all the more true. Every day we make small decisions, take small steps, then we look back over the decades and wonder “where did the time go?”

Thoughts invade, choices are made, a price will be paid
When you give yourself away
People never crumble in a day
It’s a slow fade, it’s a slow fade
(Casting Crowns)

About Jeffrey Kemp

I’m a Christian, a husband, a father of three, a database programmer and a pianist. I enjoy programming, playing with technology, losing wrestling matches with my kiddies, and long drives to visit the farmers-in-law. My favourite edible substance is Iced Coffee. I also blog about Oracle-related topics at jeffkemponoracle.com.
This entry was posted in Atop The Soapbox and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

